Starting in 1992, the Crans Montana Champs Open by Rip Curl is the longest running international snowboard contest in Europe. On the 7 & 8 of February Crans Montana will erupt as some of the world’s best snowboarders and freeskiiers anti-up for a cut of the $50,000 prize purse and those invaluable 5star TTR points.

The 700-metre course includes, huge hips, a quarterpipe and even a section of the superpipe. In true Open style the competition is accessible to everyone, with two rail session qualification rounds being held earlier in the year in Modena, Italy and Lausanne, Switzerland. These qualifiers allow new competitors to join the semi-finals and compete against the biggest guns. Last year saw Finn Jaakko Ruha fight his way up from the open qualifications rounds to beat former Olympic gold medallist and snowboard legend Gian Simmen.

SATURDAY 7TH FEBRUARY: STARTS 09:30 CET OR 08:30 GMT SUNDAY 8TH FEBRUARY: STARTS 11:00 CET OR 10:00 GMT

http://mpora.com/videos/TT7gKROp7 More Snowboarding events on Mpora TV >>