Share

News

Laura Berry Interview

Laura Berry may have discovered snowsports late in life, but she’s certainly making up for lost time. The 19-year-old British shredder chats park, pow and living next door to Xscape. Lucky, lucky girl…

From: Milton Keynes

Have you always loved snowsports?
No, I knew nothing about them until the Xscape was built in Milton Keynes. I’ve only known about them since I was 12.

How did you get into snowboarding?
The Xscape was built five minutes from my house so I got lessons for my birthday and took it from there, really.

When did everything turn serious and you decided to commit yourself to the sport full time?
I did my GCSEs at school and made sure I did well in them and then went to do my first full season. I had the mindset that I can always go back to school but not back to snowboarding. I’m studying at the Open University now so it worked out pretty good.

Can you give us a run down of your average day?
Wake up, eat breakfast, go shred until about 3 o’clock, chill in the afternoon, have dinner, do uni work or party if I’m lucky – ha ha! Much the same as everyone else’s I guess…

And if you could have the perfect day, what would it include?
Wake up, breakfast in bed, shred the pow all morning and perfect park all afternoon with friends. Then chill or go do some fun sports, eat dinner out with friends, have few drinks and then bed!

What are your plans for this autumn?
Usually, I head to Deux Alpes with Kommunity Camp, try and get to some festivals, see friends that are in the UK throughout the winter and try and get a tan which never goes to plan.

Where is your favourite spot?
I love Morzine as a general place to live and ride. Breckenridge is amazing to shred too.

How do you prepare for a big competition?
I don’t do anything different. Just make sure I don’t eat shit a couple days before it, apart from that, no point changing things, as it would just unsettle me more.

Do you still get nervous before a big contest?
Sometimes yeah, not always though.

What is the atmosphere like behind the scenes?
Pretty friendly and fun most of the time. The British comps are the best. There’s a nice chilled vibe and people just messing around until their run.

What are your suitcase essentials when you’re on the road?
Phone, iPod, laptop with films, sudoku.

What have been your biggest career setbacks?
More injuries than you can shake a stick at. It is rubbish.

What have your greatest achievements been so far?
Coming 5th in the Roxy Chicken Jam. Winning the Red Bull Home Run. Every time I land a new trick is a new greatest achievement.

Who or what are your inspirations?
Friends inspire me and just the fact I don’t like not being good at something. I just want to have fun and keep learning to be honest.

What affect does your career have on your personal life?
I do miss my friends and family when I’m away. I miss good food a lot of the time too. The usual stuff I guess.

How do you relax when you get the chance?
Watch a good movie, cook a good meal or chill with a good book. Any of those things really.

What’s up next for you?
Hopefully get my collarbone sorted once and for all and have a fun season getting back into it and learning some new stuff.

Share

Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.

production