VAST Awards

On the 5th of February 2007 a 700 strong crowd gathered at the incredible and intimate Muffathalle in central Munich to witness the unveiling of the winners for The VAST Awards competition 2006. It was the second annual Awards ceremony, a unique project of its kind, boasting the freshest talent in the ski filming and free skiing industry.

The Awards ceremony was carried out swiftly, hosted by the one and only Christian Stephenson. The first Award of the evening went out to Fred Arne Wergeland, for his amazing cinematography featuring Jon Larsson. Larsson’s exquisite skiing talent earned him his second consecutive VAST Award for Best Male Skier. Also taking out the best of her kind two years in a row was Katriene Aerts from Belgium. These two Peak Performance Team skiers were delighted to be honored once again for their unique talent in their field.

Team SSC, the SuperStarCollective went home with a nice combination of recognition with the Awards for Most Innovative Approach, and for Best 3rd Layer which acknowledges art direction and post production for their film The Game.

New Way Productions were unable to make it to the Awards themselves but none the less, they were overjoyed to learn that there contribution of Snowy Delight earned them Best Rookie Film, as well as earning one of their Skiers, Philippe Casabon the prize for Best Skier Performance, the Peoples Choice, which is one of the most prestigious awards of the competition.

The honoring of the incredible ability of Thomas Krief is definitely one of the most exciting Awards for the VAST Awards 2006. He took out the Award for Best Rookie Skier with the contribution I’m Twelve. In every way this is an example of what the VAST Awards sets to achieve, the recognition of young and talented skiers and filmers from around the world, brought together in a format accessible by anyone who wishes to be a part of it. And he is still only twelve!

Jeff Harper and Steele Spence from Level One Productions were super happy to accept the Awards for not only Best Editing of the movie Short Story, but also the big one of the evening, Best Film! This award acknowledges all aspects of film making, for its content, direction and execution. Josh Berman the creator of Short Story, was unable to attend in person, but is obviously ecstatic with respect given to his work:

“I can´t tell you how stoked I am to have won a couple of the awards- especially best film! Its such a huge honor! Please extend my thanks to everyone that helped to put this year´s VAST Awards competition together, and let them know that I´m really looking forward to entering again next year,” he said.

A surprise award at the end of the evening went out to Filip Christenssen from Field Productions, under the bonus category of Editors Choice Award, an acknowledgement for his great enthusiasm and of a kick ass film! Filip entered the VAST Awards competition as an amateur but was placed in the Professional category due to the expertise demonstrated in his work: “I am so stoked to be here and to see that people appreciate my work, and party on!” he said.

The VAST Awards after party was accentuated with the awesome sounds of Dj Traxx from Chicago, as well as Jäger°90 & Madame La Menthe from Munich carrying on into the early hours.

Thank you to all those who participated in the VAST Award 2006 competition.

Awards Summary:

Winner of Best film VAST Awards 2006 is

Short Story by Level1 Productions

The winner of the Best rookie Film of VAST Awards 2006 is

Snowy Delight by New Way Production

The winner of the Best male skier of VAST Awards 2006 is

Jon Larsson from Roadworks

The winner of Best female skiers of VAST Awards 2006 is

Katrien Aerts from Addicted

The winner of Best rookie skier of VAST Awards 2006 is

Thomas Krief from I’m Twelve

The winner of the Best Cinematography category in VAST 2006 is

Wergeland/Larsson with Roadworks

The winner of Best editing award of VAST 2006 is

Level1 Productions with Short story

The winner for the category of Best 3:rd layer in VAST 2006 is

Team SSC in The Game

The winner of the Most innovative approach Award in VAST 2006 is

Team SSC with The Game

The winner of the award for the most of the people’s vote’s category Best Skier Performance in VAST 2006 is

Philippe Casabon from Snowy Delight

And an Editors Choice Award was given to Filip Christiansen.


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.