Billabong British Schools Champs

What: Hunter/Billabong British Schools Surfing Champs
Where: Woolacombe, North Devon
When: 25 – 27 April 2008

Over 200 young surfers battled it out in Woolacombe this weekend for the 2008 Hunter/ Billabong British Schools Surfing Championships in association with Calypso and Kustom. Consistent 4ft clean surf and sunshine meant superb conditions and encouraged a super-high standard of surfing.

Surfers aged 12 to 18 from schools across the South West, England, Wales and the Channel Islands entered but it was Newquay that shone through with Holly Donnelly winning the girls, George Picking winning U16s and Tretherras School taking the team cup.

Here are the ones to watch…


Under 16 bodyboard
1. Bertie Thompson
2. Jacob Sharp
3. Ollie Arden
4. Liam Bentley

Under 18 bodyboard
1. Bertie Thompson
2. Nat McAbe
3. Liam Bentley
4. Ollie Arden

Girls Bodyboard
1. Tamsin Dillon
2. Sophie Good

1. Karma Worthington
2. Zack Lawton
3. Harry Bennett
4. Zack Broad

1. Holly Donnelly
2. Karma Worthington
3. Kathleen Spears
4. Tassy Swallow

Under 14
1. Miles Lee Hargreaves
2. Ryan Roberts
3. Paddy Daniel
4. Tassy Swallow

Under 16
1. George Picking
2. Max Tucker
3. Robert Merchant Greenslade
4. Jack Ellis

Under 18
1. Matt Burner
2. Jack Whitefield
3. Tom Bentley
4. Haydn Duck

Overall Schools Winner 2008
1. Tretherras A team 61 points
2. Braunton 36 points
3. Bournemouth 33 points
4. Kingsbridge and Ivybridge 32 points


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.