Crans-Montana Champs Open Snowboarding Contest

After a difficult week of strong winds, the sun finally came out to deliver bluebird skies for the semi-finals and finals of the Swatch TTR 4-Star Crans-Montana Open presented by Rip Curl. Six women and twelve men went huge in the finals, proving their skills on a variety of features, from kickers to rails and transitions, in a bid to claim the title.

Jaakko Ruha from Finland, who fought his way up from open qualifications, stomped the best tricks in the Slopestyle section alongside a solid performance in the Halfpipe, to clinch the top podium spot. Ruha was followed by Swiss riders Gian Simmen and Stefan Maurer who worked their home turf advantage to take 2nd and 3rd place. Ursina Haller, also from Switzerland, won the women’s title, throwing down the best runs in the halfpipe and an equally impressive slopestyle performance. Julia Baumgartner (AUT) took 2nd spot and Margot Rozies (FRA) finished 3rd.

Both winners are taking home a piece of the $50 000 USD prize purse and 700 Swatch TTR Ranking points. Ursina Haller, who has now moved into TTR World No 5, was stoked with her victory at the Champs Open saying, “I had so much fun riding with my friends today. The set up was great you don’t often get the chance to ride a kicker, corner and pipe in one single course.”

Other changes in the TTR Ranking include, in the men’s field, Jaakko Ruha from Finland moving into TTR World No. 65 after his first place finish, and Swiss rider Stephan Maurer
moving into TTR World No. 22 after finishing third at Crans-Montana. In the women’s field, Sarka Pancochova (CZE) has moved into TTR World No. 13 after her 6th place finish, Julia Baumgartner who finished 2nd is now in TTR World No. 28, and French rider Margot Rozies, who finished third, is now in World No. 45.

For all the sweet action, check out Freecaster for the replay. Also stay tuned to the TTR website for updated news, videos and blogs from the world snowboarding tour.

Final Results Women
1. Ursina Haller (SUI)
2. Julia Baumgartner (AUT)
3. Margot Rozies (FRA)
4. Caroline Beliard (FRA)
5. Silvia Schlereth (AUT)
6. Sarka Pancochova (CZE)

Final Results Men
1. Jaakko Ruha (FIN)
2. Gian Simmen (SUI)
3. Stefan Maurer (SUI)
4. Anthony Holland (SUI)
5. Ville Uotila (FIN)
6. Janne Lipsanen (FIN)
7. Jean-Jaques Roux (FRA)
8. Micael Lundmark (SWE)
9. Mathieu Schaer (SUI)
10. Alex Evequoz (SUI)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.