Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards Winners

The kings and queens of big wave surfing have been crowned at the eighth annual Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards in California. Regarded as the Oscars of big wave surfing, the 2007/08 awards recognize the biggest and heaviest waves ridden and documented over the past twelve months.

Over two thousand surf-stoked fans packed the Grove Theater in Anaheim to witness mind-blowing rides from Chile, Europe, South Africa, Australia, Hawaii, Mexico, California and French Polynesia. In what proved to be one of the best years in big wave surfing history, over 500 images and videos were submitted for judging. The awards are decided by a panel of 250 surfers, selected surf media and big wave aficionados.

Shane Dorian, 35, of Kona Hawaii, scooped top honors by winning the $50,000 Ride Of The Year Award for a wave conquered at Teahupoo, Tahiti during the swell of the year on November 1st 2007: “Usually at Teahupoo, you pick your line, set your rail and you normally make it, but that wave was really unique,” said Dorian. “I nearly fell at the start, I nearly fell in the middle and then it clipped me at the end. “It was difficult because I was almost eating it the whole time. To think that I got the Ride of the Year is a huge honor for me, I’m really psyched that Billabong and Monster throw a big deal for it and support all the guys who go out and ride these waves,” he said. “But really, at the end of the day the ride itself is the biggest reward and it’s one that I will remember forever.”

Dorian got the nod over Tahitian Manoa Drollet who rode a wave of similar consequence during the same session. Carlos Burle (Brazil) finished third for a giant ride at Ghost Tree, California, Ian Walsh finished fourth for a Teahupoo bomb and Australian 21-year-old Michael Brennan finished fifth for an insane ride at his local break of Shipstern Bluff in Tasmania. Brazilian videographer Gustavo Camarao won $5,000 for capturing the winning Dorian ride.

San Clemente big wave legend Mike Parsons, 43, has officially surfed into the record books for riding a wave judged to be 70ft+ (24m+) to win the Billabong XXL Biggest Wave Award. The feat was performed at Cortes Bank off the Californian coast on January 5th 2008. Judges measured the wave at 70ft but due to the photo cutting off the bottom of the wave they were unable to accurately pin point the exact base of the ride, meaning it is actually somewhat larger. It is the second time Parsons has secured the prestigious Biggest Wave Award after taking out the inaugural title in 2001 for a 66ft wave ridden at the same location.

Maya Gabeira, 21, took back-to-back titles in the Billabong Girls Best Performance Award after notching up a collection of giant rides in Tahiti, California, Hawaii and Mexico over the past twelve months. Gabeira proved without doubt that she is the world’s premiere female big wave surfer. “It is such and honor to be here again, two years in a row,” said Gabeira. “All my friends are here and my mom flew out from Brazil. “To see those waves on the big screen here and listen to everyone scream is such a good feeling.”

The 2007/08 Billabong XXL Awards can be seen on ESPN2 on Friday 29th May at 9:30pm.

BILLABONG XXL RIDE OF THE YEAR AWARD (Surfer prize $50,000 – Video prize $5,000)

1st: Shane Dorian (Kona, Hawaii, USA) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007. (Video by Gustavo Camarao)

2nd: Manoa Drollet (Tahiti, French Polynesia) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.

3rd: Carlos Burle (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) at Ghost Tree, California on December 4, 2007.

4th: Ian Walsh (Paia, Hawaii, USA) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.

5th: Michael Brennan (Tasmania, Australia) at Shipstern Bluff, Tasmania on January 14, 2008.

WINNER BILLABONG XXL BIGGEST WAVE AWARD (Surfer prize $15,000 – Photo/video prize $4,000)

Mike Parsons (San Clemente, California, USA) at Cortes Bank off California on January 5, 2008.

(Photo by Robert Brown)

WINNER MONSTER PADDLE AWARD (Surfer prize $15,000 – Photo/video prize $4,000)

Greg Long (San Clemente, California, USA) at Todos Santos, Mexico on December 5, 2007

(Photos by Jeff Flindt)

WINNER MONSTER TUBE PHOTO AWARD NOMINEES (Surfer prize $5,000 – Photography prize $2,000)

Manoa Drollet (Tahiti, French Polynesia) at Teahupoo, Tahiti on November 1, 2007.

(Photo by Jeff Flindt)


Greg Long (San Clemente, California, USA)


Maya Gabeira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.