Sarah Beardmore takes English National Surfing Championships

Once again Sarah Beardmore (whom we will feature in the upcoming issue of Cooler – so watch out!) took the women’s title at the English Championships in Newquay. Hannah Harding from Harlyn came second ahead of North Devon pair Karma Worthington and Lucy Campbell. And our former cover girl Candice O’Donnell took the women’s longboard title.

Contest director, Ester Spears, said: “Big thanks to Protest for sponsoring the English Nationals this year, it was a hardcore surfing event with some outstanding performances from the cream of English surfing.”

Protest country manager, Paul Wilkinson, said: “We were delighted to sponsor the English Nationals at Watergate Bay, the event brings together some of the best English surfers and we were particularly thrilled to see Protest rider, Sarah Beardmore, take the women’s title. Protest as a brand continues to show support for British surfing with sponsorship of the English team last year and the English junior team this year.”

Full Results:

Cadets U16 Boys

1 – Luke Dillon (Newquay)

2 – Jobe Harriss (Bude)

3 – Liam Turner (Bude)

4 – Myles Lee Hargraves (Bournemouth)

Youth U14 Boys

1 – Ed Smith (Liskard)

2 – Tas Knight (Croyde)

3 – Dale Foster (Newquay)

4 – Liam Murray (Padstow)

Girls U18

1 – Tassie Swallow (St. Ives)

2 – Laura Crane (Croyde)

3 – Jemima Knight (Croyde)

4 – Harriet Knight (Croyde)

Boys U18 Longboard

1 – Zak Lawton (Croyde)

2 – Lewis Stritch (Bude)

3 – Peter Loopstra (Plymouth)

4 – Alex Maddocks (Saunton)


1 – Anthony Weight (Bournemouth)

2 – Tony Good (Newquay)

3 – Matt Knight (Croyde)


1 – Lee Bartlett (Newquay)

2 – Chris Harris (Newquay)

Women’s Longboard

1 – Candice O’Donnell (Newquay)

2 – Nicola Bunt (St. Agnes)

3 – Grace Davies (Jersey)

4 – Harriet Knight (Croyde)


1 – Lee Bartlett (Newquay)

2 – Eugene Tollemache (Padstow)

3 – Tom Pope (St. Austel)

4 – Chris Harris (Newquay)

Junior U18 Boys

1 – Jobe Harriss (St. Merryn)

2 – Alex Baker (Croyde)

3 – Luis Eyre (Portugal)

4 – George Picking (Newquay)


1 – Ben Skinner (Newquay)

2- James Parry (Newquay)

3 – Ben Howarth (Saunton)

4 – Sam Bleakley (Sennen)


1 – Sarah Beardmore (Poole)

2 – Hannah Harding (Padstow)

3 – Karma Worthington (Croyde)

4 – Lucy Campbell (Woolacombe)


1 – Jayce Robinson (St. Ives)

2 – Lyndon Wake (Croyde)

3 – Tom Earl (Newquay)

4- Stuart Campbell (Woolacombe)


Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.